Best Metal Clips for Woodworking, Crafts, and Home Projects
The best metal clips for wood depend on material thickness, needed holding force, and how many clamps a project requires. The 6-inch HORUSDY clamps suit thicker workpieces, while the 4-inch ELEAD set offers a middle-size option. For small crafts, consider the 2-inch packs; for frequent setup or multiple work areas, the 24- and 40-piece sets provide more clips. Compare the stated jaw openings before choosing, since clamp length alone does not show how thick a piece each clip can hold.
| Product | Best For | Stated Opening or Pack Size |
|---|---|---|
| 20-piece 2-inch spring clamps | Small projects and surface protection | 20 clamps; opening not stated |
| HORUSDY 6-inch clamps | Thicker materials | 2.5-inch opening; 6 clamps |
| ELEAD 4-inch clamps | General woodworking and tarp tasks | 6 clamps; opening not stated |
| Honeydak 4-inch clamps | Bulk use and repeat projects | 1.5-inch opening; 24 clamps |
| 40-piece 2-inch clamps | Small, light-duty fastening | 0.78-inch opening; 40 clamps |
20-Piece 2-Inch Metal Spring Clamps

These 2-inch spring clamps are best for buyers who want a compact multipack for woodworking, camping, home improvement, or photography setups. The galvanized metal construction is described as corrosion-resistant, and the product features rubber-coated tips intended to help protect the held surface. A soft handle coating is also listed for a more comfortable grip.
Choose this set when surface protection and a larger quantity of small clamps matter. The listing says the clamps can grip flat and odd-shaped workpieces. However, it does not state a maximum jaw opening, so check the actual fit against your wood thickness before relying on them for a particular job.
HORUSDY 6-Inch Spring Clamps

The HORUSDY set is best for users who need a wider opening than compact 2-inch clips provide. Each clamp is 6 inches long and has a stated maximum opening of 2.5 inches; the set includes six clamps. Thick spring material and nickel-plated steel are listed as durability features, with the plating described as helping resist rust.
Choose these when your workpiece thickness falls within the stated opening and you want a small set of larger clamps. The listing does not specify rubber jaw covers or a clamping-force measurement, so use additional surface protection if the wood finish is easy to mark.
ELEAD 4-Inch Heavy-Duty Spring Clamps

This six-piece set is best for buyers seeking versatile metal clips for woodworking, home decor, backdrops, or tarp tasks. The clamps are made from nickel-plated steel, which the listing describes as corrosion-resistant. An arc-shaped handle and non-slip rubber cover are included for grip and comfort during use.
Compared with the 6-inch HORUSDY option, these are a shorter listed size, which may suit jobs where larger clamps are less convenient. The product information does not give a maximum jaw opening, so confirm the opening is adequate for the material before purchase. The listing also does not state a specific clamping-force rating.
Honeydak 24-Piece 4-Inch Spring Clamps

Honeydak’s 24-piece set is best for people who need many clips for recurring woodworking, furniture, craft, or backdrop projects. The clamps are 4 inches long and have a stated 1.5-inch jaw opening. The listing reports clamping tension and force up to 30 pounds, and describes the steel as rust-resistant. Skid-resistant construction and orange covers are also listed.
Choose this set when quantity and a clearly stated opening are priorities. Its 1.5-inch maximum opening is narrower than the HORUSDY clamp’s stated 2.5 inches, so it is not the better match for workpieces that exceed that range. Confirm that the listed force and opening suit the task rather than assuming all spring clamps hold equally.
40-Piece 2-Inch Small Spring Clamps

This 40-pack is best for light-duty fastening, crafts, model building, and projects that need many small clips. Each clamp measures 2 inches long and has a maximum opening of 0.78 inch. The listing specifies nickel-plated steel, a black-steel spring mechanism, plastic tips intended to help prevent surface marks, and ergonomic handles.
Choose this set when small dimensions and quantity matter more than a wide opening. Its stated opening is less than an inch, making it a poor choice for thicker wood pieces that cannot fit within that range. The listing describes these clamps as suitable for light-duty fastening, so compare that use with the demands of your project.
Buying Guide: How To Choose Metal Clips For Wood
What jaw opening do you need?
Measure the thickest material the clamp must hold, then compare it with the product’s stated maximum opening. Among these options, the HORUSDY set lists a 2.5-inch opening, Honeydak lists 1.5 inches, and the 40-piece set lists 0.78 inch. The other two listings do not provide an opening measurement, so do not infer capacity from clamp length alone.
How many clips should you buy?
A small set can suit occasional repairs or a limited number of hold points. Larger packs may be more practical when securing several pieces at once, setting up a backdrop, or keeping spare clips available. The products here range from six clamps to 40, but a higher count does not mean each clamp has greater holding force.
Will the clips mark the wood?
Look for protective tips or covers if the wood has a finished, painted, or delicate surface. The 20-piece set lists rubber-coated tips, and the 40-piece set lists plastic tips. Other clamp listings describe rubber on the handle, which is not the same as a protective jaw cover. Test a clamp on an inconspicuous area when surface appearance matters.
Does metal construction matter for outdoor use?
Several products describe plated or rust-resistant steel, but that wording does not establish that a clamp is waterproof or suitable for prolonged exposure. For outdoor tasks, check the product’s material details and remove or dry clips after use if moisture could be an issue.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are spring clamps suitable for woodworking?
Yes. They can hold pieces in place for tasks such as light assembly, craft work, or positioning materials. Match the jaw opening and stated use to the project.
Which option has the widest stated opening?
The HORUSDY 6-inch spring clamps list a maximum opening of 2.5 inches.
Which set includes the most clamps?
The 40-piece 2-inch set has the largest stated quantity among these products.
Can spring clamp tips protect finished wood?
Rubber or plastic tips are intended to help reduce surface marks, but they do not guarantee that every finish will remain undamaged. Test the clip or add a protective layer when needed.
Is clamp length the same as jaw opening?
No. Clamp length describes the overall size, while jaw opening describes the maximum space between the jaws. Compare the opening with the thickness of the wood you plan to hold.